Coopers European Lager

Kit Brewer, Tell us what you think of the kits you are making, what's good, what's bad, and what should we avoid.

Coopers European Lager

Postby Gethin79 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 17:42

This was the first kit I ever made, and as such I think I made a couple of mistakes en route to the finished product, but I'll give you a run down of what I think of it.

Firstly, there is usually lots of discussion as to whether or not this kit comes with a genuine lager yeast. So, just to confirm...yes it does.

As a newbie I followed the instructions pretty much to the letter, adding the recommended 1kg of Coopers Brew Enhancer 2, making it up to 23L. OG of 1.040. I pitched the yeast straight out of the packet onto the top of the wort at 23C...and here followed my first mistake.

At the time I had no form of temperature control, and in fact didn't realise I needed it as I was following the instructions which recommended 21C. The instructions do say that the yeast strain will ferment as low as 13C but it seems to recommend 21C. So, I placed my FV in the kitchen, which fluctuated between 19C and 21C...which for this yeast was, as I found out on here, too warm. :doh:

I left the brew fermenting at this temperature for around 3 days before I realised my mistake and put it into the conservatory at 13C, but I fear this may have been too late. In total I left the brew in the FV for a total of 3 weeks, before achieving a stable SG reading of 1.010. By this time I had built myself a fermentation fridge, so racked into a secondary FV and lagered it for 2 weeks at 1C. This should probably have been longer, but as my first brew, I must admit, I was getting impatient ;)...oh...one thing to note...while this is fermenting this does give off a strong sulphor/eggy smell, which SWMBO was not too over the moon about. Don't worry about it, its normal, just prepare to be moaned at for a few days. :nono: It fades away fairly quickly though.