Dried Elderberries

Sugars, finings and anything else

Dried Elderberries

Postby jkp » Mon Oct 26, 2015 04:05

Hi all

I plan to brew GA's Elderberry Imperial Stout using some dried Elderberries as I can't get fresh berries or juice. In preparation I have a packet of Young's dried Elderberries which I opened today to weigh out. The packet is within it's best before date(do these things actually go off?).

I've never used dried Elderberries before and I'm surprised by the smell of them. The first aroma that came from the packet was a musty smell rather like dog hair :shock: but once you get your nose right into the berries there is a rich and intense dark fruit aroma much like a full bodied red wine. Is this musty smell normal for dried Elderberries? Should I be worried?

At the moment I'm quite torn on whether to use them or not. Should I wash them before using or perhaps rehydrate them and discard excess water? I was just going to put them in at the start of the boil, so I assume they don't need cooking first.

I don't want to lose any of their flavour, but would like to be sure that my beer won't smell like an old dog. Any suggestions greatly appreciated!

Jon

jkp
Brewer

Re: Dried Elderberries

Postby jkp » Mon Oct 26, 2015 11:58

Update: I decided to rehydrate them first before using. After a good few hours the water has turned a deep dull red colour, but the berries seem not to be absorbing the water yet. The smell seems to have improved greatly. Tasting the water it is very intense, I want to say "dank" but I'm not really sure what that means! Not sweet or sour at all, and surprisingly not very bitter. It's not an unpleasant taste, but I wouldn't drink a glass of it. So it's looking hopeful that this is going to be fine.