Kit recommendation

Postby PeddlerAndGroom » Mon Apr 10, 2017 09:43

Morning brewers,

I'm both new to this forum and to the world of brewing. I'm looking to purchase an all grain starter kit, something similar to the all grain kit on the brew shops site (post won't allow me to share the link). For £300 the kit includes:

Kit Contents
• Brew your Own British Real Ale Book
• Thorn Electric Boiler
• Insulated Mash Tun
• Wort Chiller
• Digital Thermometer
• LCD Thermometer
• Brupaks London Bitter Mash kit
• Paddle
• 30 ltr Fermenting Bin
• Airlock
• Hydrometer
• Steriliser VWP 400g
• 5 gallon Pin Valve Barrel
• Co2 Bulbs and Holder

I was wondering if any of you had recommendations of where and what to buy. My budget is around £300 but could push to £350. Being a total beginner I want to avoid buying individual components and start with kit form.

Many thanks in advance,
Richard.
PeddlerAndGroom
Brewer

Re: Kit recommendation

Postby Rolfster » Mon Apr 10, 2017 14:11

Have you considered making your own stuff?
Some of it is a bit daunting. Like cutting holes in stainless pots, but it's not so difficult.
And some of it is really easy, like making your own immersion chiller.

Just a thought!
Rolfster
Brewer

Postby sledgehammer » Mon Apr 10, 2017 14:38

you don't have to start with expencive flashy stainless kit i would begin with some plastic home made kit to start with see how you get on find out what you really need (and don't need) and work from there
i have a 3 vessle system but you can use a single and do everything in one pot (as i started) some use two
i started with plastic and have expanded it but not seen any advantage (for myself) in investing in stainless kit

Steve
sledgehammer
Brewer

Postby Rolfster » Mon Apr 10, 2017 14:59

sledgehammer wrote:you don't have to start with expencive flashy stainless kit i would begin with some plastic home made kit to start with see how you get on find out what you really need (and don't need) and work from there