Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby boab44stout » Wed Dec 07, 2016 22:27

hi guys i am building a herms control box a small version and was wandering if it would be safe to use in my kitchen using three plug sockets to feed 1 for the pids and pump and the other to feed 2 2.5 kw elements one for hlt n one for herms.
I have the control box almost built but not happy with the chassis plugs ive used as they are like the ones on a pc psu.
Any advice would be grateful
was thinking of following this build on the forum
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3578
User avatar
boab44stout
Brewer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:02
Location: motherwell

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby AltonAnt » Thu Dec 08, 2016 09:04

What is the MCB rating for that circuit? I'm guessing it would be 32A which as long as your total draw is well under that then fine (for diversity) e.g. someone doesn't boil the kettle, use the microwave and toaster at the same time as you are brewing.

Unless it is a monster pump it is probably safe to run it, the PID and one element from a single 13A socket but if you have more available then use them.
It would also be better to use sockets on separate rings for the elements
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby Sorcerers Apprentice » Thu Dec 08, 2016 09:57

I don't know if this is an option for you, I brew outside and piggy backed a 32 amp commando socket onto the back of my cooker switch. I also changed the circuit breaker in the fuse board to an rcbo earth leakage type. I can't use the cooker while I'm brewing but it has a gas hob so it's really only the oven that's out of bounds.


Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
User avatar
Sorcerers Apprentice
Brewer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:04

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby Sorcerers Apprentice » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:00

Image

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
User avatar
Sorcerers Apprentice
Brewer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:04

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby PeeBee » Thu Dec 08, 2016 14:38

I used to use a 16A socket to plug in a 5 gallon boiler with 3KW element.

Well within the ratings, but the plug soon development brown scorch marks. So how safe is "safe"?
User avatar
PeeBee
Brewer
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 16:57
Location: North Wales

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby Sorcerers Apprentice » Thu Dec 08, 2016 23:59

Are you plugging in/out under load?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
User avatar
Sorcerers Apprentice
Brewer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:04

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby Kev888 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 22:01

boab44stout wrote:not happy with the chassis plugs ive used as they are like the ones on a pc psu.

In theory these IEC 'kettle' style plugs and sockets should work if rated for the current (and if the hot condition ones are used near elements). In practice though, quite a few people still get them melting, even the hot condition variants. Almost any plug can overheat if it gets a dodgy contact, but its happened enough that I'd say at least some makes of these style aren't really up to sustained use at full power.

Neutrik powercon true1 connectors are very good IMO, rated to 16amps, locking and capable of breaking contact whilst under load.

Kev
User avatar
Kev888
Brewer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 15:32
Location: UK

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby boab44stout » Mon Dec 12, 2016 22:50

hello everyone thankyou for all your replies i have a cooker socket at forty amps but i think it is on its way out as there are scorch marks on the socket
i usually only run one element at a time to stop or prevent damage to the wiring
i also haver noticed that my plug does heat up after 40 mins so i will eventually get my control panel built but just for herms and hlt
User avatar
boab44stout
Brewer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:02
Location: motherwell

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby boab44stout » Mon Dec 12, 2016 22:52

i really like all the ideas on here ideally i would prefer a brew shed next year with its own power
User avatar
boab44stout
Brewer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:02
Location: motherwell

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby boab44stout » Mon Dec 12, 2016 22:53

no i always switch everything off before i unplug
User avatar
boab44stout
Brewer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:02
Location: motherwell

Re: Herms control panel from kitchen ring main

Postby boab44stout » Mon Dec 12, 2016 22:54

hi kev888 i was looking at those chasis connectors they look ideal
User avatar
boab44stout
Brewer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:02
Location: motherwell


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests