Changing Bergland Tap (Now one piece!)

Postby Prismed » Tue Aug 30, 2016 19:51

So I'm the proud owner of a lovely new 25 litre (I only make smaller batches) thermopot, which I intended to replace the tap to a ball valve using the below guide:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6423

However, I came accross an issue... the new bergland tap is now a one piece design! Being a complete novice I now have all the parts the guide listed me to buy, but no way of fitting it!

IMG_3204.JPG
IMG_3204.JPG (85.52 KiB) Viewed 638 times

I have searched around for a guide, but can't seem to find anything relating to the new tap design. I've been stood in B&Q looking at all the fittings for around 40 minutes, while googling, but it's all so confusing. Why do they mix imperial and metric?! I figure the inner hole needs a 3/8 thread (but this doesn't convert to metric?), so I need a 3/8 to 15mm conversion somehow. But with a spacer to fill the gap between inner and outer skin?

IMG_3206.JPG
IMG_3206.JPG (81.72 KiB) Viewed 638 times

Can anyone help? Also preferably with links with what to buy from screwfix or wherever, being as I'm completely useless! :lol:
Prismed
Brewer

Re: Changing Bergland Tap (Now one piece!)

Postby serum » Tue Aug 30, 2016 21:34

I can't give links but when I made my boiler I used a few more parts. There might be an easier way but this is what I did:

You need a running nipple which is like a big long threaded tube and that'll go all the way through the hole and stick out a bit at either end.

I use dowty seals (washers with a rubber bit) on either side of the wall of the pot, then two nuts to hold the nipple in place

I've got a ball valve tap with a female thread on each end instead of a male one. One end screws onto the nipple and the other has a hose barb on it with a male thread. You could probably just get an adapter of some sort but it might mean the tap will stick out a bit more than it needs to.

FV - Altbier