PID wiring

Brewing Porn . . . Sunglasses are Mandatory!!

Re: PID wiring

Postby bobsbeer » Thu Jul 16, 2015 19:57

Something like THIS with a 5 amp fuse inserted will be fine to protect the PID.
User avatar
bobsbeer
Brewer
 
Posts: 4830
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:37
Location: Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Thu Jul 16, 2015 20:12

bobsbeer wrote:Looks like it only supports a load of up to 2 kw, which would be fine for fermentation fridge use, or kegerator, but no good for brewing use, unless you use a small element. The other disadvantage I can see if used as a fermentation controller is the lack of being able to flash the STC to enhance the programmability aspect. Looks a neat unit though, but no price shown on the website.


Yeah, it is a fridge controller but I think I read they were charging <$40 so will easily corner the market in the states.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby bobsbeer » Thu Jul 16, 2015 20:41

That's not a bad price for that unit.
User avatar
bobsbeer
Brewer
 
Posts: 4830
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:37
Location: Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Thu Jul 16, 2015 21:41

bobsbeer wrote:Something like THIS with a 5 amp fuse inserted will be fine to protect the PID.

Thanks dude

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:43

I've now ordered everything.

I've included 2 rocker switches as I'm thinking of adding a switch to turn off the PID as well as the SSR. Am I correct in saying it would be ok to go just before or after the fuse in the diagram above? I've never used a rocker switch, infact the only experience at all relevant is making an STC1000 (no switch) and wiring a plug! The rocker switch I have is this one. I wondered if anyone knows what the 3 pins are for. I assumed they're to go on the live side, with one being the power in, another continuing the circuit. What is the third one for?

Thanks in advance, I realise these are basic questions, that might suggest I've no business going anywhere near a project like this, but i'm slowly getting there. I'll use a plug-in RCD just incase.

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:57

What is the third one for?


So it lights up when powered ;)
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 20, 2015 13:47

AltonAnt wrote:
What is the third one for?


So it lights up when powered ;)

Ah okay. So before the live goes to the switch, I need to split it so one wire goes to the power in for the circuit and the other goes to power the led then a third continuing the circuit?

Do you happen to know which pin's which?

EDIT; just reading about this a little online, there's mention of one of the pins being neutral for the switch to illuminate. Would this just be connecting a wire to run from this pin to the neutral block as per the diagram? If I'm not arsed about it illuminating, can I just leave this pin alone?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Mon Jul 20, 2015 14:10

If I'm not arsed about it illuminating, can I just leave this pin alone?


That is the easiest way.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 20, 2015 14:22

AltonAnt wrote:
If I'm not arsed about it illuminating, can I just leave this pin alone?


That is the easiest way.

Thanks, but otherwise?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Mon Jul 20, 2015 15:00

You'll need a neutral fed via the switch to the load (element).
Seems a bit of a faff just to have a lit switch.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 20, 2015 15:14

AltonAnt wrote:You'll need a neutral fed via the switch to the load (element).
Seems a bit of a faff just to have a lit switch.

I'm not in a rush. If it takes a few mins, that's fine. I don't quite understand what you mean though, just to be clear, the neutral would go from the pin on the switch directly to the neutral on the socket that the element plugs in to. Is this in place of the one going from the neutral block, or do you create another neutral block just before the element socket?

Thanks for all your help. I owe you one.

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

PID wiring

Postby GAZ9053 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 17:12

You Will have live in, switched live out and just a neutral to pin 3 for the illumination. Without testing it I would guess the different coloured one would be neutral. Check with a continuity tester which is the 2 live pins.

First BIAB 15.03.15
First Grainfather 22.12.15




My kit wine how-to
User avatar
GAZ9053
Brewer
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 09:28
Location: Birstall, Batley

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 20, 2015 17:20

GAZ9053 wrote:You Will have live in, switched live out and just a neutral to pin 3 for the illumination

Thanks Gaz. Would the neutral running from pin 3 to the neutral block okay? I think it's starting to make sense now. So the switch is continuing or breaking the circuit, but by the putting the neutral in completes a separate circuit for the light.

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby GAZ9053 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 17:22

Spot on mark. Only the live is switched and the neutral is to power the light.

First BIAB 15.03.15
First Grainfather 22.12.15




My kit wine how-to
User avatar
GAZ9053
Brewer
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 09:28
Location: Birstall, Batley

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 20, 2015 22:53

Wow i've really not planned this much as I should. I'm thinking now, I plan to have a perspex lid with the pt100 probe botched into a t fitting of some kind. It's occurred to me that unless I can make the probe detachable, I'll probably end up having to store the pid with the probe and the perspex lid altogether. That would be a pain.

Does anyone know the easiest way to make the probe detachable from the unit?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Tue Jul 21, 2015 08:28

Mini XLR connectors are popular for connecting detachable probes.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:34

AltonAnt wrote:Mini XLR connectors are popular for connecting detachable probes.

One like this for the socket?

and for the connector, one like this?

If so, would it just be a case of snipping the connectors off the pid wire and soldering it to the connector, then using a normal live, neutral and earth to go from the PID to the socket?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:47

Please don't confuse terminology. I already have concerns about discussing mains electrical wiring and you obviously need to be comfortable with what you are doing to ensure your own safety.

The XLR connector is for the probe/sensor (PT100). It is fundamentally a resistor that changes values based on the temperature. It is not mains powered so does not use live/neutral/earth. Any suitable cable can be used for extending a 3 pin PT100. Just use suitable colours to differentiate the two types (two are connected to each other and one isn't).
An XLR connector is normally used for connecting an audio signal and should never be used with anything approaching mains voltage.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:16

AltonAnt wrote:Please don't confuse terminology. I already have concerns about discussing mains electrical wiring and you obviously need to be comfortable with what you are doing to ensure your own safety.

The XLR connector is for the probe/sensor (PT100). It is fundamentally a resistor that changes values based on the temperature. It is not mains powered so does not use live/neutral/earth. Any suitable cable can be used for extending a 3 pin PT100. Just use suitable colours to differentiate the two types (two are connected to each other and one isn't).
An XLR connector is normally used for connecting an audio signal and should never be used with anything approaching mains voltage.

thanks, I've just read up a bit on it and am I right in saying as long as I keep the colours the right way around, I should be ok? I found this coloured "equipment wire" which Vossy from the old place linked. If for example I have 2 red wires and one white, to keep things straight forward, I will buy the same colours from Maplins and keep it the same way round from the PID to the socket, then wire the pins on the connector the same way. Is there a particular pin they need to go to on the socket and connector?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Tue Jul 21, 2015 15:40

Any pin will be fine as long as you mentioned, they go from the same pins through the socket to the PID.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests