PID wiring

Brewing Porn . . . Sunglasses are Mandatory!!

PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 13, 2015 19:09

Does anyone have any wiring diagrams for a really simple PID which controls a single SSR & element?

I can't make heads nor tails of some of those that I've seen. I hoped there might be one that's simple, easy to follow and colour coded to show which wires are doing what.

I have seen this, which looks about right, but the I don't get why they haven't just used 3 wire colours for the diagram. So for example, to me, it looks like either the live or neutral splits and feeds the output and the PID (the brown one) with the other splitting and feeding the SSE and the PID (the black one). I know it probably doesn't matter too much, but I'd feel more comfortable if I understood what it all did. Image
I assume the green one is the earth which goes straight from the input plug to the output plug.

Thanks in advance!

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby mark1964 » Mon Jul 13, 2015 19:36

There was a how to somewhere regarding wiring the rex pid. Auber ones are simple to wire I have the diagram upstairs I think viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3578

ITS TIME 4 ANOTHER BEER
User avatar
mark1964
Brewer
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 19:32
Location: yorkieshire

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 13, 2015 19:55

Thanks Mark, I have seen this one but I struggle to follow it in truth. I think I would need a much simpler one. Have you seen any other how to's where it's just a simple one ssr, one element one?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby mark1964 » Mon Jul 13, 2015 20:02

Not really we just have 1 ssr and 1 element in a herms pot. Its an auber pid and was easy to wire. If you pm me your email ill take a few pics of the wiring and send you them

ITS TIME 4 ANOTHER BEER
User avatar
mark1964
Brewer
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 19:32
Location: yorkieshire

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Mon Jul 13, 2015 20:11

Great thanks.

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Mon Jul 13, 2015 21:26

The PID (SSR models) has an output of a low DC voltage that is enough to switch the SSR. The mains side of the SSR switches the live (black in the diagram) with the neutral is going direct to the element.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby bobsbeer » Mon Jul 13, 2015 21:34

The picture looks right to me. The live 240v wire (black) is the one that is split going to the SSR and the PID. The heavy dots indicate where the wires split. The SSR is controlling the output to the output plug. You don't need seperate 240v feeds to both SSR and PID. Although depending on the rating of your element you may want to put an inline fuse (5amp) in the feed to the PID as that does not need such a high amp feed as needed by the heating element I admit the colour choices are a bit strange when compared to standard UK wire colours. But if you ignore those the diagram is right.
User avatar
bobsbeer
Brewer
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:37
Location: Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Re: PID wiring

Postby AFewTooMany » Mon Jul 13, 2015 22:48

Image

This is for a HERMS build if it helps

Work is the curse of the drinking classes
User avatar
AFewTooMany
Brewer
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 08:45
Location: Glasgow

Re: PID wiring

Postby Dave1970 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:38

Is this any use?

Image

This works fine for an element in a RIMS. As others have said it would be better if it had a fuse built into it and also a switch to isolate the element but I didn't really have space in my enclosure. Much as I ended up with a nice tidy little box it made it all more difficult to do and I'd go bigger if I did it again.

Image

Brewing: Cider 2015
Conditioning: AG#21Branxholme Bitter
Drinking: C ider 2014,AG#15 Stellar Tortoise II, AG#19 All at C
User avatar
Dave1970
Brewer
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 11:09
Location: Leicester

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:03

Dave1970 wrote:Is this any use?

Image

This works fine for an element in a RIMS. As others have said it would be better if it had a fuse built into it and also a switch to isolate the element but I didn't really have space in my enclosure. Much as I ended up with a nice tidy little box it made it all more difficult to do and I'd go bigger if I did it again.

Image

Dave that looks just about perfect. It's the same PID i'm looking at too. Thanks

So if I were to include a socket for a pump in there too, would I just have an extra live, neutral and earth coming from the connector blocks to wire the socket. As it will drawing much less current, are any resistors or anything required?

Thanks

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:24

Mark wrote:So if I were to include a socket for a pump in there too, would I just have an extra live, neutral and earth coming from the connector blocks to wire the socket. As it will drawing much less current, are any resistors or anything required?

Thanks


As long as the current of the combined load isn't above what the wiring, fuse or SSR can support it should be fine.
If you just want to switch the element on and off you can use a small DC switch on the SSR control line which will prevent it from turning on which is fine but doesn't isolate it from the mains.
Devices only draw what current they need.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:36

AltonAnt wrote:
Mark wrote:So if I were to include a socket for a pump in there too, would I just have an extra live, neutral and earth coming from the connector blocks to wire the socket. As it will drawing much less current, are any resistors or anything required?

Thanks


As long as the current of the combined load isn't above what the wiring, fuse or SSR can support it should be fine.
If you just want to switch the element on and off you can use a small DC switch on the SSR control line which will prevent it from turning on which is fine but doesn't isolate it from the mains.
Devices only draw what current they need.

Thanks, for the switch, do you mean the line that runs from the mains to the SSR or the live that goes from the PID to the SSR?

If I wanted a switch for the whole device, where would this go? Would it be best before the live block?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:48

Mark wrote:Thanks, for the switch, do you mean the line that runs from the mains to the SSR or the live that goes from the PID to the SSR?

If I wanted a switch for the whole device, where would this go? Would it be best before the live block?


You can switch the DC on pins 6 or 8 (input) which will prevent the SSR from providing power to the element (output). Think of the SSR as an electrically controlled switch (Solid State Relay). The PID outputs a DC voltage of 3-30v (in reality 5-12v usually) which allows the mains to flow to the element.

If you want to isolate the element from the mains then use a mains switch to do this as SSRs are known to leak and a small mains voltage may still reach the element.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Tue Jul 14, 2015 13:04

Ok, so would this look about right if I wanted a switch for the element, and to add a socket for a pump with a switch (all guesswork)
Image

Edit, actually I'll take out the switch to turn the pump on and off. I'll just use a socket that's got one on to keep it easier.

Will the pump socket need earthing? If so, will this just be a case of running the earth from the socket back to the earth connector block?

Finally, the suggest 5 amp fuse, should that go just before pin 10 of the PID as per the diagram?

Thanks all. It's starting to make sense (I think)

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Tue Jul 14, 2015 23:21

Anyone?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Wed Jul 15, 2015 08:08

I would earth the socket as you mention, you can just run an earth from the connector block.
The PID fuse should go between the connector and pin 10. 1A would be enough as it is only powering the PID.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:31

AltonAnt wrote:I would earth the socket as you mention, you can just run an earth from the connector block.
The PID fuse should go between the connector and pin 10. 1A would be enough as it is only powering the PID.

Great, thank you so much. So i'm going to go as per this diagram;
Image

I plan to use 1.5mm 3 core wiring, does that sound about right? Also, I'll be using a heatsink. what i'm not sure about is how they attach to the enclosure? I know there's a thermal paste used to glue it to the SSR, but i'm stuggling to see how it will go in the enclosure.

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:36

Some people have the SSR heatsink on the outside of the case.
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:59

AltonAnt wrote:Some people have the SSR heatsink on the outside of the case.

Yeah that's what I mean, I assume the SSR is inside the case, so if it's attached to the heatsink, how does that work?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby Dave1970 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 20:55

Mine just sticks out the back of the enclosure. I cut a slot that the sink slides into.

Image

Brewing: Cider 2015
Conditioning: AG#21Branxholme Bitter
Drinking: C ider 2014,AG#15 Stellar Tortoise II, AG#19 All at C
User avatar
Dave1970
Brewer
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 11:09
Location: Leicester

Re: PID wiring

Postby Joe1002 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 21:09

My heat sink is inside the box but it is attached to a pc fan which sucks cool air in from outside the box and blows it straight onto the heat sink. Directly opposite is another pc fan sucking the hot air out of the box. It has worked well so far.

A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.
User avatar
Joe1002
Moderator
 
Posts: 2758
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 10:01
Location: Essex

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:35

Ah ok, that's easier than I thought then.

I'm just looking at ordering the lot from Amazon. I'm thinking this PID.

This SSR

and This PT100

The thing I'm struggling to find it something to house the fuse. I'm searching for fuse holder, but the only things coming up look to be for cars. Am I searching for the wrong thing?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Re: PID wiring

Postby AltonAnt » Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:50

I've not tried that PID but it looks to be the same as the Sestos which is great.
Inkbird appear to be making some useful stuff copying and improving both the PID and STC-1000.
The one with the most promise though is the ITC-308 - http://www.ink-bird.com/product/detail/ ... ller/id/12

I think this is 240v compatible but would just need the plugs changing for UK.

Image
User avatar
AltonAnt
Brewer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 10:45
Location: Alton, Hants

Re: PID wiring

Postby bobsbeer » Thu Jul 16, 2015 17:47

Looks like it only supports a load of up to 2 kw, which would be fine for fermentation fridge use, or kegerator, but no good for brewing use, unless you use a small element. The other disadvantage I can see if used as a fermentation controller is the lack of being able to flash the STC to enhance the programmability aspect. Looks a neat unit though, but no price shown on the website.
User avatar
bobsbeer
Brewer
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:37
Location: Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Re: PID wiring

Postby Mark » Thu Jul 16, 2015 19:44

Yeah that looks pretty tidy for a fermentation temp control shame they don't do the same sort of thing for a mash controller.

Any ideas about the fuse holder?

@chesterbrewr
User avatar
Mark
Brewer
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 16:40

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests